The below Out-of-the-Box Metrics can be downloaded and added to your list of Saved Metrics. They will allow you to start analyzing your data in different categories. You can also edit these metrics to suit your needs by adding filters, adding grouping or changing the time frame.
MRR / ARR
Total MRR
This metric gives you total MRR (sum of all MRR movements) as of today based on the products and components on active subscriptions.
Calculation: Sum(MRR as of Today)
Considerations: The time interval can only be as of today. It cannot be changed to be interval based.
Total MRR Growth
Total change in MRR in the given month. This includes all products, on/off components, and quantity-based components with any related coupon discounting. Changes from metered usage components, one time fees, or startup fees are excluded.
Calculation: New Business MRR + Expansion MRR - Contraction MRR - Churn MRR + Reactivation MRR
Total ARR
Total ARR as of today based on the products and components used by all active subscriptions.
Calculation: Sum(ARR as of today)
Total ARR Growth
Total change in ARR in the given month. This includes all products, on/off components, and quantity-based components with any related coupon discounting. Changes from metered usage components, one time fees, or startup fees are excluded.
Calculation: (New Business MRR + Expansion MRR - Contraction MRR - Churn MRR + Reactivation MRR) x 12
Potential Conversion MRR
Total potential MRR for subscriptions that are trialing and have not converted
Calculation: Sum(Potential MRR)
Install Base MRR Growth
Total MRR lost from churn (canceling or expiring subscriptions) and contraction (downgrades) plus gained from expansion (upgrades) and reactivation (cancelled accounts that come back).
Calculation: (Churn MRR + Contraction MRR) + (Expansion MRR + Reactivation MRR)
Total MRR (Past Due)
Total MRR for subscriptions in the past due state.
Calculation: Sum(Past Due MRR)
MRR Movements: $MRR, Week over Week
Total MRR movements for the current week and a rate of change week-over-week
Calculation 1: Sum(MRR movements this 7 days)
Calculation 2: Sum(MRR movements this 7 days) / Sum(MRR movements last 7 days)
Acquisition
Trial to Paid Conversion
Total subscriptions that convert to a paid subscription from a free or trialing subscription
Calculation: Count(Trial to Paid Conversions)
Trial to Paid Conversion MRR
Total MRR from subscriptions that convert to a paid subscription from a free or trialing subscription
Calculation: Sum(Trial to Paid Conversion MRR)
Churn & Contraction
Gross MRR Loss
Total MRR lost from both churn (canceling or expiring subscriptions) and contraction (downgrades). Does not include usage contraction.
Calculation: Churn MRR + Contraction MRR
Net MRR Churn
Total MRR lost from churn (canceling or expiring subscriptions) plus gained reactivation (cancelled accounts that come back).
Calculation: Churn MRR + Reactivation MRR
Net MRR Loss
Total MRR lost from churn (canceling or expiring subscriptions) and contraction (downgrades) plus gained from reactivation (cancelled accounts that come back). Does not include usage contraction.
Calculation: (Churn MRR + Contraction MRR) + Reactivation MRR
Dunning
Dunning Monthly
Total customers who are actively in dunning
Calculation: Sum(active_dunners_delta) AND (category="recovered" OR category="entered_dunning")
Total Amount Invoiced Recovered
Total amount invoiced minus tax at risk recovered through the dunning process.
Calculation: Sum(Amount at Risk) AND Status = Recovered
Total Amount Invoiced At Risk
Total amount invoiced minus tax at risk currently in the dunning process
Calculation: Sum(Amount at Risk)
Subscriptions
Average Revenue per User
Average monthly recurring revenue generated per paying subscriber.
Calculation: Total MRR / Paid Subscriber Count
Example:
Subscriber 1 total MRR: $30
Subscriber 2 total MRR: $50
Subscriber 3 total MRR: $100
Subscriber 4 total MRR: $0
ARPU = $180 / 3 = $60
Lifetime Value (LTV)
Total amount a subscription will spend on your product or service before churning.
Calculation: ARPU / Paid Subscriber Churn
Example:
May ARPU: $60
May Paid Subscriber Churn: Churn Count / Start-of-Period Subscriber Count = 2 / 20 = 0.1%
LTV = $60 / 0.1 = $600
Total Renewals
Total subscription renewals categorized by renewal month
Calculation = Count(Renewals)
Total Subscriptions by Status
Total subscriptions for the last 2 years, categorized by status
Calculation: Count_unique(Subscription IDs)
Payments & Refunds
Refunds issued
Total refunded amount categorized by payment_type and currency
Calculation: Sum(Amount refunded)
Total Amount Paid by Payment Type
Total amount paid categorized by payment method
Calculation: Sum(Amount Paid)
Usage
Total Usage Growth
Total change in revenue coming from metered usage-based components in the given month. This does not include activity from one-time fees or startup fees.
Calculation: Sum(Usage Revenue)
Usage quantity by component
Total usage quantity for metered usage components categorized by component
Calculation: Sum(usage_quantity)